2019 National Champions
2019 National Champions
By CHS staff

For the second consecutive year the Canisius High School crew team earned a national title at the Scholastic Rowing Association of America Championships at Dillon Lake, Ohio. The lightweight four of Charlie Korn '19, Zach Porter '19, Zach Mecca '20 and Nathaniel Sass '19 and coxswain John Weckerle '19 won the gold by racing the 1500m race in 4:55.53, 5.8 seconds faster than the second place boat.

The junior eight of James Oh '20, Oscar Neil '20, Riley Eagan '20, Jed Dietrich '21, Connor Long '20, Andrew Skakal '21, Aiden Hart-Nova '20, Jeffrey Mueller '20, and coxswain Owen Wittman '20 finished fifth overall at 4:38.33, 4 seconds off the first place team.

The varsity double with Tom Feeney '19 and Will Ezquerro '19 missed making the finals by less than a second.

Then, on Memorial Day, Canisius won several gold medals at the Fontana All-High Regatta at the West Side Rowing Club in Buffalo. The varsity team placed first in all entered events which included the junior varsity four, the varsity lightweight four, the junior varsity 8, the varsity four, the second varsity four, the lightweight 8, and the first varsity eight.

Click here to read coverage from The Buffalo News.

The members of winning Canisius boats not listed above are listed below.


junior varsity four:

Jed Dietrich '21, Andrew Skakal '21, James Oh '20, Aidan Hart-Nova '20, and coxswain Owen Wittman '20.


varsity four:

Nathaniel Sass '19, Zachary Porter '19, Charlie Korn '19, Zachary Mecca '20, and coxswain John Weckerle '19. 


second varsity four:

Will Ezquerro '19, Nate Siwiec '21, Max Battaglia '19, Dylan Sass and coxswain Sam Sullivan '20.


lightweight 8:

James Oh, Aidan Hart-Nova, Jeff Mueller, Dylan Sass '21, Nate Siwiec '21, Miles Wilson '20, Chaz Keller '20, Ben Sayers '22, and coxswain Sam Sullivan '20.


first varsity eight:

Nathaniel Sass '19, Zachary Porter '19, Charlie Korn '19, Zachary Mecca '20, Oscar Neil '20, Riley Eagan '20, Tom Feeney '19, Connor Long '20, and coxswain John Weckerle '19.